top of page
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Writer's pictureMLS Network

MLS Draft Interview: Tyrese Spicer, Toronto FC

With the first overall pick in the 2024 MLS SuperDraft, Toronto FC selected Tyrese Spicer out of Lipscomb. Most pre-draft projections had him nowhere near the first pick, but perhaps they should have. It just goes to show just how unpredictable the SuperDraft really is. The redshirt junior proved to be unstoppable once given a chance to thrive up top. In his redshirt freshman year, he still managed to score 3 goals in just 6 appearances. During Spicer's first full season, he notched 8 goals and 7 assists with only 9 starts to his name. In 2023, Spicer put 14 goals home. He scored a goal in each of the first 10 matches last season. Toronto FC took notice.


Toronto's wing positions are filled by the Italian duo of Lorenzo Insigne and Federico Bernardeschi, but they have not quite been able to figure out a striker as of late. Last season, a homegrown out of Syracuse by the name of DeAndre Kerr led the team in scoring during his second season with the club. He scored five goals, while their other #9 choice in CJ Sapong added just one. The moral of the story is that this team is wide open for Tyrese Spicer to take the reins of TFC's attack immediately. With that being said, General Manager Jason Hernandez has linked him to the left flank and wingback positions. Regardless, he is expected to be an impact player right away. His reaction to going first overall was one of pure joy.


"Honestly, I was speechless to the point I was emotional because it’s a big deal being drafted number one overall in the SuperDraft," Spicer said. "I worked so hard to put myself in this situation and to accomplish that dream is the best feeling ever."


As mentioned previously, no one knew exactly who was going at pick number one, not even Tyrese Spicer himself. Though, of course, he had some idea. Toronto had been in contact with Spicer, so at the very least he felt that there was a chance they would take him.


"I had an idea that Toronto was interested in me because I had talks with them and they seemed very interested," Spicer said. "So on draft day, I definitely had thoughts about going number one overall, but when it did happen, I just couldn’t wrap my head around it because it was unbelievable, but I just want to thank God for everything."


Spicer is a native of Trincity, Trinidad and Tobago. His childhood back in his home country was far from easy. He did not have a lot of money to his name, and he fought through some rough periods. He feels that his upbringing has molded him into the person he is today. Additionally, he is extremely proud to be a positive representative of Trinidad and Tobago.


"Trinidad & Tobago means a lot to me because we tend to get overlooked, but there is a lot of natural talent in this country and I think I definitely shine the light on Trinidad and Tobago," Spicer said. "I think my experiences back home shape me to be a player that is self motivated to bring success to my family because I came from a poor background and I really want to help my family. I think it made me persistent and hungry for more and mature."


Tyrese Spicer's game is played at a high pace. He has blazing speed that very few players can keep up with. He is always looking to make runs in behind and take on defenders. Along with his pace, he keeps tight control of the ball and can play a perfect pass once the defense has turned their attention towards him. As far as finishing goes, Spicer has a powerful left peg, but can use both feet and his head to score goals. His player role model makes a lot of sense when analyzing his skillset.


"The player that I look up to the most is Marcus Rashford," Spicer said. "I think he’s very dynamic, explosive and he can really finish as well."


Out of all the talent in the draft, Tyrese Spicer has the best chance to become an immediate MLS contributor. Toronto FC had the entirety of college soccer at their disposal, and Spicer was the guy they felt most confident selecting. He will return that confidence back to Toronto's front office. Spicer is quite assured that his on-field ability will take him places. With a mentality like his, all TFC can do now is teach the young attacker valuable lessons, and let him play. Do not be surprised if Tyrese Spicer is making waves across Major League Soccer in a matter of months.

146 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page