top of page
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Writer's pictureMLS Network

MLS Draft Interview: Jamar Ricketts, San Jose Earthquakes

The San Jose Earthquakes last won a playoff game in 2010, and have only qualified three times since then. In 2024, they will look to return to the postseason that has eluded them so often. To kickstart what needs to be a busy offseason in the Bay Area, the Earthquakes took on the 2024 MLS SuperDraft. The Quakes held the No. 13 overall selection, with which they picked up Jamar Ricketts out of California State, Northridge.


Ricketts is an extremely versatile player that can play anywhere along the left side of the pitch. He played a lot of winger at CSUN, but San Jose general manager Chris Leitch stated that they have him slotted in as a left back as of now. For Ricketts, that is no problem at all.


"I honestly don’t have a preferred position. I love attacking and I feel like I am able to attack in all positions I might play," Ricketts said. "Just being on the field is good because I will do my job in whichever position is needed."


The junior was a three-year starter for the Matadors. He appeared in 55 total matches, registering 16 goals and 10 assists. He set career-highs in 2023, manufacturing exactly half of his college production with 8 goals and 5 assists on the year. Ricketts possesses blazing speed that will be utilized no matter where he's lined up on the team sheet. His quickness and agility makes him a constant threat whenever he is on the ball or making runs. Additionally, he has the ability to whip a ball into the box, which will be quite useful as a wingback. Along with his athleticism, Ricketts says that the best part of his game is his mind.


"My strongest aspect of my game is my mental over everything," Ricketts said. "I am fearless and ready for whatever, which gives me confidence on the field. I am also pretty quick on my feet"


Jamar Ricketts is already feeling the love from the Earthquakes' community. He is a huge fan, and cannot wait to get started.


"I’m very excited to join the Quakes family. Everyone is so welcoming and trusting," Ricketts said. "I love the play style and I’m ready to bring more passion and a fighting spirit to the Bay. Family and community is everything to me and I feel that the Quakes embody that."


Jamar Ricketts is one of the few players in the draft that could get a serious opportunity straight away. There is nothing that the Earthquakes need more than a touch of dynamicity, and Ricketts serves as the perfect candidate for that profile. As it stands, San Jose has Paul Marie, Carlos Akapo and Miguel Trauco at the fullback positions. Ricketts has a massive preseason ahead as he prepares to fight for a spot in the rotation ahead of the 2024 MLS campaign.

70 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page